The Fourth Day of Switchmas

On the fourth day of Switchmas, Nintendo gave to me…

Four Champions,
Three Knights a-Shovelling,
Two Snippers Clipping
and Super Mario Odyssey (2017).

The four champions of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (2017) represent four of the most beloved races from the series’ mythos: Zora, Goron, Gerudo and Rito. After the first trailers featuring aspects of the games narrative were released, rampant speculation about whether the feathered Champion Revali was a Rito abounded: if it was, then that mean that somehow the Zora and Rito now existed in the same period, whereas in previous lore the latter had evolved from the former.

In the end, it turned out to be the case, just going to prove what many of long known: when it comes to making games, Nintendo’s paramount concern is designing good gameplay, and they will happily write over previously established lore to facilitate this.

The Divine Beasts which the Champions pilot are also named after significant characters from previous Zelda games, belonging to the respective races of each Champion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s